Partitura-Ligeti by Abstract Birds

Partituira – Ligeti – {Excerpts} from Abstract Birds on Vimeo.

Partitura-Ligeti is a collaboration between Abstract Birds + Quayola in the form of a live audiovisual
concert and installation based on Ligeti’s sonata for viola solo, performed by Odile Auboin of
Ensemble intercontemporain, Paris.
Inspired by the studies of artists such as Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Oskar Fischinger and Norman McLaren, Partitura-Ligeti is inherently connected to music, generating and defining its own coherent visual language. Through the use of bespoke software, the sound of the viola is analysed and transformed into dynamic graphic scores.

The six Ligeti pieces materialise into linear structures, translating the music and its complexities into abstract
geometries and forms.

Ligeti had a far reaching influential palate from Renaissance to African music, literature, painting, architecture, science and mathematics, especially the fractal geometry of Benoît Mandelbrot and the writings of Douglas Hofstadter. The Sonata for Viola Solo, has been described as “perhaps the greatest paean yet written to a single string, in this case, the viola’s lowest string, “C” its most sensual asset. Commissioned by Arcadi for Nemo Festival, in collaboration with Ensemble Intercontemporain.

Abstract Birds (Pedro Mari and Natan Sinigaglia) / Quayola – Artists
Odile Auboin – Musician
Keri Elmsly – Producer
Adam Stark – Sound Analysis
Commissioned by Arcadi and Nemo Festival
In collaboration with Ensemble Intercontemporain
Music by György Ligeti
Developed in VVVV
with additional support from Julien Vuillet and Matt Swoboda

Leave a Comment

Filed under visual story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *